Sense of Memory

Whenever something stands out in my mind I know it will become a memory that I can recall. I like when I have the ability to remember. It is a challenge to memorize, but if I work at it I can memorize almost anything. Especially things that motivate me. I know my brain sees more than my eyes do, because I am so busy, I can’t possibly see everything. It stores memories that I repressed. I would like to reach in and grab a handleful, well maybe not… I am thankful for the memories or lack of memories my brain has hidden from me to protect my well being. 

“Only a small percentage of the whole iceberg is visible above the surface. In this way, the iceberg is like the mind. The conscious mind is what we notice above the surface while the unconscious mind, the largest and most powerful part, remains unseen below the surface.

In our metaphor the small amount of iceberg above the surface represents the conscious mind; the huge mass below the surface, the unconscious mind. The unconscious mind holds all awareness that is not presently in the conscious mind. All memories, feelings and thoughts that are out of conscious awareness are by definition ‘unconscious.’ It is also called the subconscious and is known as the dreaming mind or deep mind.

Knowledgeable and powerful in a different way than the conscious mind, the unconscious mind handles the responsibility of keeping the body running well. It has memory of every event we’ve ever experienced; it is the source and storehouse of our emotions; and it is often considered our connection with Spirit and with each other.

Leave a Reply

