Transmitted across a synaptic cleft.

 

download.jpg

Enter a caption

Ok ok let me explain the title, while reading an interpretation of the picture above…

MICHELANGELO’S “CREATION OF ADAM” found on the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel,

I was transfixed on what God’s hand, the one on the right, is doing to Adam’s hand. At first glance it seems that the two hands are wearily reaching out for each other. I never thought that there may have been a deeper reason for why God was pointing. Today something made me think of this painting, something made me want to research it and understand it further. Transmitted across a synaptic cleft. Adam has been created, he is sitting reaching out to God and God is transmitting intelect, conviction, his very soul; who knew! The soul comes from the creator, without it we are just bodies, pounds of flesh walking around. God and Adam do not touch, that is where the synapse comes in. The Webster’s definition of a Synapse is, a junction between two nerve cells, consisting of a minute gap across which impulses pass by diffusion of a neurotransmitter. I find this facinating because in learning about how our brains work I found what is known as “limbic resonance, and I think it’s worth mentioning that limbic resonance is the theory that the capacity for sharing deep emotional states arises from the limbic system in the brain, these states include the dopamine circuit promoting feelings of empathetic harmony, and the norepinephrine circuit originating emotional states of fear, anxiety and anger. With that said I have learned that the “sharing” part is actually done without touching, it is an energetic exchange. Michelangelo’s painting embodies this exchange in such a way that would be hard for even the most poetic writer to achieve in mere words. But if I were to try, I’d have to say simply… you and I.

Leave a Reply

